Home > Driving Laws Change State:  
Colorado
Driving Laws Information
  CONTENTS
Driving Laws
DUI Laws
 

Traffic Laws

Chains Laws
 Colorado Traffic Laws
Other Traffic Laws
 - Right turn on red: Legal after a full stop
 - Left turn on red: Legal from a way-street to another one-way street after a full stop
 - Roundabouts: When entering, yield to traffic already within the roundabout  
Colarado traffic school

 - Turn signaling: Signal continuously for 100 feet before the turn in urban areas, 200 feet above 40 mph
 - U-turns: Permitted where you have sufficient sight distance and there are no signs prohibiting it
 - No parking allowed within 30 feet of a stop sign/traffic signal/railroad crossing, on a bridge, in a tunnel, or within 15 feet of a fire hydrant
 - Passing on the right: Legal when there are two or more lanes in one direction. No passing on the shoulder.
 - High beam headlights: Dim them when within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or when following a vehicle within 200 feet
 - When on a one-lane steep road, the vehicle going downhill yields to the vehicle coming uphill.


State law says if you are involved in an accident on a freeway/expressway and there are no injuries, the vehicles are driveable and drugs/alcohol are not suspected, then you are required to get the vehicles out of traffic lanes. It's a myth you have to wait for the cops to show up before you can move the cars. For every one minute an accident sits in traffic it causes five minutes of delay for everyone else.


Seat Belts

Seat belts are required for:


 - all drivers
 - all front seat passengers
 - children up to 16 years old


Booster seats are required for:
children from 4 to 6 years old until they are 55 inches tall

Front-facing safety seats are required for:
children from 1 to 4 years old who weigh 20 to 40 pounds

Rear-facing safety seats are required for:
children under 1 year old who weigh less than 20 pounds

Exceptions to the seat belt law include ambulance and police workers, people with physical/psychological disabilities that get approval, buses, and mail carriers/delivery drivers.

A seat belt violation is not a primary violation, meaning one has to be pulled over for something else before one can be cited for this.

Graduated Licensing Laws

 
 - Learner Duration and Hours Supervised Driving : 12 mos./50 hrs.
 - Learner Permit Min. Age : 5 w/driver. ed; 15 yrs. 6 mos. w/4-hr. driver. awareness course; 16 w/out either; under 18 yrs. requires parent/guardian affidavit for lrnr. Permit
 - Intermediate Nighttime and Unsupervised Driving Restriction : midnight to 5 a.m.
 - Intermediate Minimum Age : 16 w/ 1 yr. lrnr. Permit
 - Intermediate Passenger Restrictions under 16 yrs. w/lrnr.permit, no pass.
 - Except driver. Instructor, parent or legal guardian; over 16 yrs. w/lrnr. Permit, no pass. under 21; under 18 yrs. w/driver license, no pass. under 21 yrs. until driver. Licensed for 6 mos.; no more than 1 pass under 21 yrs. until driver. licensed for 12 mos. ; no more than one pass. in front seat of a vehicle driven by a person under 17 yrs., and the number of pass. in back seat cannot exceed number of seat belts; all pass. with drivers. under 17 yrs. must wear seatbelts; no cell phones while driving Full License Minimum Age 17.

Back to Top

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Resources | Sitemap | Online Traffic School

 

Defensive Driving Course | Point Reduction Course | Online Driver Improvement | DMV Traffic School | Defensive Driving Classes