Home > Driving Laws Change State:  
North Carolina

Driving Laws Information

  CONTENTS
Rules for School Bus Drivers
 
DWI laws
 North Carolina Driving Laws

North Carolina Driving Laws

According to North Carolina traffic laws, the DMV can also suspend license for the following: 
North-Carolina traffic school

Driving Laws in North Carolina

1. Two convictions of speeding over 55 mph during the same year;
2. One conviction of speeding over 55 mph and one conviction of reckless driving within a year;
3. A conviction of willful racing with another motor vehicle, whether it is pre–arranged or unplanned.
4. A suspended court sentence or part of a sentence mandating that you must not operate a motor vehicle for a specified period of time; and/or
5. A conviction for speeding over 75 mph.

 
CDL Rules


You cannot have more than one license. If you break this rule, a court may fine you up to $5,000 or put you in jail. Commercial drivers are restricted to one driver license (a single CDL). As a commercial driver, if you have more than one driver license you are in violation of federal law and could be fined a minimum of $250 for the first offense and $500 or more for each subsequent offense. Keep your home state license and return any others.

You must notify your employer within 30 days of conviction for any traffic violations (except parking). This is true no matter what type of vehicle you were driving.

You must notify your employer and the motor vehicle licensing agency in the state issuing your CDL within 30 days if you are convicted in any other jurisdiction of any moving traffic violation. This rule applies only to violations directly relative to driving and does not pertain to citations such as parking infractions. This is true no matter what type of vehicle you were driving. You must report all convictions of violations received while driving commercial vehicles and private vehicles (such as a private car).

You must notify your employer if your license is suspended, revoked, or canceled, or if you are disqualified from driving.

You must give your employer information on all driving jobs you have held for the past 10 years. You must do this when you apply for a commercial driving job.

No one can drive a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL. A court may fine you up $5,000 or put you in jail for breaking this rule.
Your employer may not let you drive a commercial motor vehicle if you have more than one license or if your CDL is suspended or revoked. A court may fine the employer up to $5,000 or put him/her in jail for breaking this rule.

All states are connected to one computerized system to share information about CDL drivers. The states will check on drivers' accident records and be sure that drivers don't get more than one CDL.

Back to Top

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Resources | Sitemap | Online Traffic School

 

Defensive Driving Course | Point Reduction Course | Online Driver Improvement | DMV Traffic School | Defensive Driving Classes