1. No conviction of Driving While Impaired (DWI)
within the past five years and not more than one DWI
2. No instances of driver license suspension or
revocation for moving violations within the past five
3. No convictions deemed disqualifying by federal
commercial driver license (CDL) requirements.
Revocation of Driving Privilege
Under North Carolina traffic laws, your driving privilege
will be revoked for at least 30 days if you are convicted
1. Driving any vehicle more than 15 mph over the
speed limit, if you are driving at a speed higher than 55
2. It will be taken for 60 days if you are
3. a second charge of speeding over 55 mph and
more than 15 mph above the speed limit within one year;
4. Speeding plus reckless driving on the same
Driver License Points
North Carolina driving law stipulates that if you are
convicted of certain motor vehicle violations in North
Carolina, driver license points are placed against your
driving record. If you accumulate seven points, you may
be assigned to a driver improvement clinic. The clinic
fee is $25.
Upon satisfactory completion of the clinic, three points
are deducted from your driving record.
you accumulate as many as twelve points within a
three-year period, your license may be suspended. The
accumulation of eight points within three years following
the reinstatement of your license can result in a second
In accordance with North Carolina driving law, if your
driver license is suspended by the point system, it may
be taken for:
1. 60 days for the first suspension;
2. 6 months for the second; and
3. 12 months for the third.
When your driving privilege is reinstated, all previous
driver license points are canceled.