Home > Driving Laws Change State:  
Ohio

Driving Laws Information

  CONTENTS

Safety laws

 Safety Laws

Child safety laws:
1. Children who are less than 4 years of age or weigh less than 40 lbs. must be secured in a child restraint.
2. There are exceptions for taxicabs and public safety vehicles.

Ohio traffic school

 3. The first offense is a minor misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $100. Subsequent offenses are a fourth degree misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $250 and/or up to 30 days in jail. Penalties are assessed at the local level. The average court costs were $45.37. This is considered an equipment violation so no points are assessed on a driver's license. It does not appear on a driver's record. 

 

Seatbelt laws:


1
. Secondary Enforcement
2. All front seat passengers must wear safety belts.
3. There is an exception for postal and newspaper delivery, and persons with an affidavit from a physician attesting that they cannot wear the belt for medical reasons.
4. Drivers who violate the law are subject to a fine of $25. Front seat passengers who violate the law are subject to a fine of $15. Penalties are assessed at the local level. The average court costs were $28.10. This is considered an equipment violation so no points are assessed on a driver's license. It does not appear on a driver's record.

Back to Top

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Resources | Sitemap | Online Traffic School

 

Defensive Driving Course | Point Reduction Course | Online Driver Improvement | DMV Traffic School | Defensive Driving Classes